ACPO Council


Position Phone Position Phone
L. Cretu, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
  Past President
R. Johnson, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
I. McNab, C. Chem.
 416-415-5000 ext 4252 Treasurer
E. Da Silva, C. Chem
LinkedIn Profile
N. Battram
LinkedIn Profile
905-483-1152 Registrar
J. Oatley, C. Chem
Chair – Board of Examiners
S.C. Mojumdar, C. Chem.
416-978-0798 Web-Zine Editor
C. Bordeleau, C. Chem.
Chair – Discipline Committee
L. Cretu, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
705-652-2111 Chair – Public Affairs & Communications
C. Bordeleau, C. Chem.
Chair – Licensure Committee
T.W. Obal, C. Chem.(interim)
905-817-5721 Associate Treasurer
D. Naranjit, C.Chem.
416-979-5000 ext 6353
Chair – Environment Committee
R. Johnson, C. Chem.
519-767-9854 FCPC Liaison
T.W. Obal, C. Chem.


Members by District

Position Phone Position Phone
District 1 – Kingston, Cornwall
A. Sarker, C.Chem.
204-474-6443 District 8 – Oakville, Burlington
District 2 – Ottawa
O. Ekewenu, C. Chem.
613-424-1738 District 9 – Wellington, Waterloo
S.C. Mojumdar, C. Chem.
District 3 – Belleville, Peterborough
N. Battram
LinkedIn Profile
416-419-7214 District 10 – London, Windsor
M. Abdelhameed, C.Chem.
LinkedIn profile
District 4 – Northern Ontario
R. Lefebvre
  District 11 – Sarnia
S. Almost, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
District 5 – Scarborough, Oshawa
K. Zahoor, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
905-668-3368 ext. 4491 District 12 – Outside Ontario
L. Cretu, C. Chem.
LinkedIn profile
District 6 – Toronto, North York
E. Da Silva, C. Chem
LinkedIn Profile
416-898-8286 District 13 – Etobicoke, York
T.W. Obal, C. Chem.
District 7 – Brampton, Mississauga
I. McNab, C. Chem.
289-834-3519 District 14 – Hamilton, Niagara
J. Oatley, C. Chem

Duties of a Councilor

We polled our members of council and our executive board to find out what activities they believe are essential to their position. From their replies, we have distilled the list down to six key functions that are indispensable to performing effectively on Council.


  1. Be a role model for the professional chemist, particularly with respect to professionalism and ethics.

Communication with members

  1. Maintain proper communication with members; contact each district member at least once a year.
  2. Pay special attention to new members during their first year of joining the association.
  3. Respond effectively to members’ inquiries.
  4. Assist and inform members on networking, job search, training, etc.
  5. Trace lost members.
  6. Contact members who are about to be or have been suspended.

Communication with council

  1. Effectively represent the interests of members at council.
  2. Report on district activities.
  3. Advise council on direction to take and about members’ expectations.
  4. Advise council on matters of fees and expenditures.

Communication with the public

  1. Elevate the profile of the ACPO with the public, government officials, universities, and industry.

Membership – growth of the ACPO

  1. Solicit potential new members; visit chemical laboratories and industries.
  2. Encourage members to identify possible new members.

Participate in ACPO activities

  1. Write articles for the Chartered Chemist News – at least once a year – and encourage members to contribute also.
  2. Participate fully in the activities of the ACPO and its committees.
  3. Help in the planning of seminars and courses for members in their districts.
  4. Work towards obtaining licensure for the association.

Electoral Districts

Electoral Districts Title Counties
(or Districts)
Electoral Districts Title Counties
(or Districts)
District No. 1
Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry, Leeds-Grenville, Lanark, Frontenac, Lennox & Addington District No. 2
Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton, Prescott-Russell
District No. 3
Hastings, Prince Edward, Northumberland, Peterborough, Haliburton and Kawartha Lakes District No. 4
“Northern Ontario”
Renfrew, Nipissing, Muskoka, Parry Sound, Sudbury and remaining Northern Districts
District No. 5
City of Scarborough, Regional Municipality of Durham District No. 6
“Toronto-North York”
Toronto, East York, North York
District No. 7
Dufferin, Peel, Simcoe District No. 8
Halton County
District No. 9
Waterloo, Wellington, Bruce, Grey District No. 10
Huron, Perth, Oxford, Middlesex, Elgin, City of Chatham-Kent, Essex
District No. 11
Lambton County District No. 12
“Outside Ontario”
Outside Ontario and Canada
District No. 13
York Regional Municipality, Etobicoke District No. 14
Brant, Greater Hamilton, Haldimand, Norfolk, Niagara